Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-12-10 - 3:50 p.m.

Observing the rituals.

I'm sitting in the office listening to the sound of trains running in the basement. Apparently the boy is actually interested in the trains today. I'm sure that makes the man very happy. Right now they're running some musical car that was playing a carol but now sounds pretty random. I guess you have to be there.

The tree is up. We started after lunch and I finished before dinner yesterday. The little man worked for about 3/4 of the ornaments. The big man for a box or so. That was actually unusual, I don't think he's participated in the last couple years, but since the boy asked he came up and helped. Right around that time, though the tree was starting to look full. It was getting harder to find the right spot for the ornaments. That's when the boys peter out. Me, I work 'till they're all on. After all, what would I leave off? My son's artworks? The antique pieces? The cardboard toys from wartime? The florescent pieces from the 70's? The beaded ornaments my mom made? The ugly lady I made when I was a child? I can't picture the tree without any of them. I did leave off the bead garland this year and just went with the star garland. It really seemed too full for both.

I need to write out cards, maybe make some cookies and I need to wrap but mostly I'm at the place where I can just enjoy. One more gift to buy for the brother-in-law but that's it. Not bad for the 10th!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen