Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-07-27 - 10:47 a.m.

Sun and Sand.

Went to the beach yesterday for a mental health day. Lots of sun, sand and splendid conversation. The best babe and I headed out early put the car on the highway and headed east until the road ended. We did the requisite basting in sunscreen, leaping through the waves, eating a bit of bad food and reading t-shirt slogans.

It's been over 10 years since I've been to this particular piece of ocean. It's the destination of my youth and pre-wedded adulthood. Now we go to the in-law's place in Jersey. OC, however, is a whole different vibe. The skyline has changed pretty dramatically in 10 years. There are more condos and fewer trashy little shops. Apparently henna tatoos are all the rage this year.

The babe thought the crowd seemed generally fatter, though I'm fatter too so I don't generally go there. And I hate to say it but tatoo's and piercings are losing their rebel cache. I'd say that every group of 10 adults had at least 5 tats and another 2 body peircings. Scariest were the upper middle aged women in the bikinis with the belly button piercings. I'd say "if you got it flaunt it" but another truism this trip was that many women had a heck of a lot of it, but flaunted it anyway.

It was the beach and it was good!

Casualty count: half the neck, the chest, the back of one shoulder, and the insides of my ankles are over crisped but not hurting and I have blisters between the 3rd and 4th toes of each foot. Definitely a small price for a fine day of leisure.


OOOH a truck just took out the bumper of a brand new car in the parking lot here. Such excitement!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen