Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-07-23 - 7:43 p.m.

A rare gift.

Sunny but pleasant on a late July Sunday and with low humidity to boot. It was a rare and wonderous thing today. I piddled with indoor chores until right after lunch when the boy decided to call his friend from school to see if they could play. When I dropped him off I realized immediately what I was wasting.

The gardening is pretty much caught up, though, and I didn't have time for a walk before it was time to pick the boy up. Silly me, I should have walked later but instead I grabbed a book and sat on the deck first reading, then drinking a cider. Dinner was an outdoor affair too, chicken and potatoes on the grill with greens and corn on the cob. Very pleasant until the bugs found us.

What I marveled at first was the vision of the deep blue of the sky against the green of the trees. Later it was just the sounds; the birds chattering, distant buzz of mowers and children playing. Amazingly quiet despite the suburb around us and a highway very close. An amazing gift after such a hot stretch.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen