Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-09-16 - 12:33 p.m.

Life and Death.

Hubs had a sad milestone today. He was looking in the paper, reading the Robert Wise obituary and saw an obituary for someone he knew. A friend he dated briefly long ago dead at 48 from breast cancer. I know it affected him because he was sitting at the table waiting to show me when I came home from the gym. There was no funeral information or donation requests, but I told him we'd donate to the Susan Komen foundation in her honor.

Hubs has had his grandparents die, but otherwise no one. This is the first person who he considers his contemporary to go. In so many ways the man is an innocent. It stunned him a bit.



In other news Back to School night was very low key for me. I got called on by the PTA pres to help hand things out, but never actually did as I kept chatting with people. He wanted me to do the motion to accept the budget, but someone beat me to it. I happily traipsed off to the boy's grade briefing and left him a love note on his desk.

The one stunning development was the new vocal music teacher. OH MY GOD. He is the most attractive young man I've seen in a long time. He looks somewhat like Orlando Bloom. Clean shaven with longish hair. His sunglasses were sort of an impromptu hairband and the effect was very nice indeed. I actually overheard a mother in the hallway telling him he was beautiful.

Home in time for Survivor. My favorite not so guilty pleasure. I am a sociologist by training and the show is better than any case study in showing the interaction of people in groups under stress.

Looking forward to the weekend. I have 1 chore on the board (mostly for hubs to do), I want to cook a couple yummies, and sleep. Looks like the cyclical insomnia is over so I have high hopes for achieving that goal.

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen