Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-09-07 - 12:23 p.m.

Hoo Boy.

I didn't sleep well after the PTA debacle. Last thing I did before bed was go on the record via email as strenuously objecting the the whole gambling thing. I despise conflict but some things are just wrong. I imagine by the end of this there will be no love for me among the new money grubbing parents.

Went to the gym this morning and ended up in a conversation (read argument) about the Katrina crisis. The other participant was very, very pro Bush. She said she heard that Bush begged the governor of LA to evacuate. I said I highly doubt that. She huffed, well she heard that. Partisan rhetoric, I responded. Nothing I've heard supports anything but total mismangement. She was starting to get hyper and kept bringing up more rhetoric - "when the water's pumped we'll be suprised how many cars are there in these areas where the residents supposedly didn't have the means to evacuate" ?!?. I stopped it dead. Everyone failed the poor of New Orleans, I said . We don't have to be partisan there's plenty of blame to go around. And despite her desire to discount it, it is absolutely a class and race issue. Needless to say I came out of the gym pissed and with my blood pressure up.

Donuts helped. I got into the zone early at work, but midmorning I got an email from another PTA member. It was basically the same topic as what I did last night to support last year's efforts only with much more punch. "Even if on some level the new collective membership�feels it can afford to offend longtime former volunteers because we have more bodies now, nobody benefits from that kind of mean-spiritedness." Wow. And that's just a sample. Unfortunately it was just sent to the president and 2 vps.

I get to go have a 2 hour meeting/training with my boss on some new stuff I'm taking over. I wish I had put more cider in the fridge last night because I have a feeling I'm going to need to drink by the end of the day. One cold one probably won't be enough.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen