Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-09-04 - 9:53 a.m.

New Orleans.

I think the best thing I've done for myself in the aftermath of Katrina is stop reading the news. It just infuriates me. Instead I keep up with Ray . He has a clearer picture of things than most of the news outlets.

I feel bad not donating every time someone asks. I've already donated to Mercy Corps in support of the Episcopal Relief. I saw on a documentary specific things Mercy Corps did after the tsunami (paying the local folks a fair wage for cleaning and rebuilding infrastructure) and liked their style. I'm also donating to the red cross through work - can't miss that gift matching program. I still feel bad, though, when they are collecting at the grocery and such. I feel like maybe I should give more.

There was someone standing on the road in my town yesterday with a sign saying "Lost everything in Katrina. Please Help." I probably should have spoken with her because it seemed incongruous. I don't see how someone from the hurricane area would have just ended up here. I should have asked, though, because if it was a victim I feel I should help and if she really wasn't she needed to be yelled at a bit.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen