Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-08-03 - 2:34 p.m.

Sunny Days.

I find I still hold my breath and pray every afternoon that the boy is doing well. Only a week and a half of camp to go. It's been a good week so far. The counsellors have been pretty nice to him and he's even liking dodge ball more. There's a trip to a minor league baseball game tomorrow and I'm sure next week will have some special activities. Here's hoping we make it through unscathed.

I've gotta say I'm really looking forward to vacation this year. I should have appreciated those sick days more because boy am I sick of being at work. My last vacation time was Green Bay in March and that feels like it was eons ago.

I'm amused by the PTA. These poor sods don't really know what they've gotten into. Of course they've alienated a bunch of the people who would help them so it kind of serves them right. We had our second summertime meeting last night. I will (thankfully) be at the shore for the first full group meeting. I think that's a good thing so the new leadership can run one solo. Maybe then they'll stop leaning on me so hard. I don't mind helping out but I really don't share the same philosophy and goals as these new folks. I must say too that I am severely underimpressed with the new president. He struck me as unprepared last night and I don't think he did any of the things he said he would after the last meeting. Cest la vie.

On the plus side the principal seems to be coming into her own. She has already hired for all the open positions (many rats fled the ship in the spring). She seems to have been very thoughtful about it and worked for more diversity as well as picking the cream of the crop (award winners and such). Amazingly our school will have 4 male teachers next year. That has to be the largest number of male classroom teachers in an elementary school anywhere. And that doesn't include the band teacher, the psychologist, the new vice principal or any of the custodial staff (my boy always includes them when we talk about the teachers). Really if the principal weren't so darn gung ho about fundraising I'd probably think she was the best thing since sliced bread. Really, though, I just don't think more gadgets are the key to good teaching.

Other than that it's pretty much same ol' same ol'. I just can't wait to see what's next.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen