Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-07-23 - 10:13 a.m.

Cause and Effect.

At 8 am the phone rang. I'm thinking problems, but in reality it was the boy's little friend calling. It was an odd call, however, as the child hung up abruptly. It may not have been a parent approved call.

The boy and I went out to the garden to pick beans and cage tomatoes. Happily the tomatoes are looking good. Unhappily we had to dislodge the cages from a couple years of unruly growth next to the shed. Even worse the boy got mosquitoed to death in the 20 minutes or so we were clipping and ripping to get the darn things. Tomatoes were caged after all and beans picked. The boy was sent to indoor safety and I finished hacking up the sticker bushes that we dislodged.

It was hot, sweaty and tiring enough to put me off doing any additional outdoor work. In fact I don't feel like doing a heck of a lot of anything. All I'm promised for is a trip to the library (funny how the electronics ban has made that more interesting).

Last night the boy made an inadvertant funny. I told him there was a chocolate version of his current favorite cereal in the stores. He wanted to know why I didn't get it. "It was that scratching thing wasn't it?", he said. You get a real feel for a kids version of cause and effect. I mean after all, I was just thinking 1 child and 4 boxes of cereal was the largest acceptable ratio for the house but he was thinking punishment.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen