Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-07-22 - 1:43 p.m.

Stick a fork in me, I'm done.

Less than three more hours to go. I rewarded the good work behavior with a trip to McD's for lunch. It made the boy happy. Hubs met us there. I'm not entirely certain what the value of that was (he's not the conversational champion of anything), but we all ate lunch together. The boy said "this is the first time we've ever all eaten together on a workday". Mean mommy me said "that's because you're supposed to be in camp". I've been trying to remind him periodically that this is not fun.

I find myself dreading the next 3 weeks. That's how much camp is left. He knows how I want him to behave, but that didn't help before so I can't count on it now. I don't want to do this again ever. I also find myself thinking about next year's camp schedule. I'm thinking maybe he needs to mix it up a bit and do different things. That means more work for me to find those things and get him signed up, but I'm thinking I probably should. Not only is this camp not working this summer, I found out that he sits out many of the active things on the schedule. When they don't make them play (like kickball) he doesn't. That is sort of counter productive when the whole purpose of sending him to this camp was so that he would be doing active things.

The main consequences for me from the week are tension, a bit of overeating (I out stripped my ww flexpoints by 10 already), and the desire to just hide in the ladies room for a while. I just want to run away for some alone time and he's busy thinking of all the things we can do together this weekend to distract him from the electronics blackout.

I just keep reminding myself of my mom's favorite saying: "this too shall pass".

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen