Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-04-11 - 9:55 p.m.

Needful Things

I'm not sure when I got weird about spending money but apparently I have. Which is not to say I'm not spending anything because that's not true either. I can buy clothes, take trips, do the regular stuff associated with living. What I can't seem to bring myself to do is make decisions on capital expenditures.

The mommy-mobile is nearly 9 and has 137,000 miles on it. I have saved some cash for a down payment. I gathered my car paperwork together. Now I find it impossible to commit to car shopping. I think I want a new car but I am paralyzed by the decision making. I don't want a huge payment, but I don't love the cheaper models. I consider used, but can't seem to commit. I mean, aren't the financing rates better if I just get new. Round and round. I can't seem to make myself move forward on this.

Part the second. When I moved into this home nearly 5 years ago, the whole impetus for moving was so we could have a yard big enough for a pool. First there was moving in monetary readjustment. Then economy worries. Finally last year we got some quotes. It was way more expensive than expected. We debated, hubs demurred. Finally we decided we would try putting extra money into our joint account to build up more cash for it and to test drive paying for the loan required for the rest. It was a success. We can afford it. It will take a good bit of our resources but frankly most of it was earmarked for it. Of course we have to add the loan but we've proven that we can do it by putting it aside for 8 months.

Of course now I'm getting really indecisive about it. I've got major cold feet. I can think of 100 reasons not to do it and only 2 or 3 to do it. Plus I'm worried. When I get what I want it frequently doesn't turn out to be what I thought it would be. What if this is a bigger pain than pleasure. GAH! The brain is spinning.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen