Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-04-06 - 3:24 p.m.

Amazed but not amused.

Last night was PTA. We advertised based on a commitment from the Middle School Principal to come speak. We got a great turn out. She didn't show up. Two problems with that 1) lots of people were disappointed 2) lots of people were now present to put their two cents worth in for the rest of the meeting. Two freaking hours worth.

My quote of the night (by me) "We really can't be in the business of teaching adults good manners."

Jaw dropper of the evening. One of our members was dressed down by parents for objecting to said parents wanting to leave their young children alone at an event and come back for them later. What sort of imbecile leaves a 7 year old alone at a "Family Activity" and expects the folks organizing the activity to watch their kid? It's not like we had permission slips or emergency phone numbers or such. You know these nit-wits would be the first to sue us if something happened.

So I never got dinner (it just isn't appealing at 9:30 pm) and as a bonus I slept poorly yet again (though it wasn't the back this time). Got up, went to the gym and they were messing with our brains with this spastic switch cd that said move forward, move forward, move back etc. all without introduction, explaination or volume (it took us a while to figure out what she said on the cd). Definitely not an A+ start.

To work and I start going through the returned forms from an automation program. More than half have been dramatically changed. And this was just a migration, there weren't supposed to be changes. I was major frustrated when of course the boss calls me in to his office.

I don't know how serious it is really because the boss is major paranoid. If I am to believe what he says, people in the organization want me to be fired. I made a mistake. I miss typed one name on a query and got the wrong list of accounts. No one checked that list and gave the person named access to see those accounts - only they were someone else's accounts. That's very bad. I'm torn. It was my error. I am the root of the blame.

Is that a reason for me to lose my job? I certainly hope not. In fact I like to flatter myself that they would be a hurting organization if I left (there's an application no one else has a clue about - nor do they know the software it's in). I just don't know. I don't want to adopt the paranoid's attitude but it wouldn't be the first time something like that happened here.

Sigh.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen