Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-02-02 - 8:34 p.m.

The nature of motivation.

Today the shrink and I had a lovely talk about motivation and core beliefs. She believes that I need to challenge my belief that my life is boring and that boring is bad. I already identified the pattern where I do well at any weight loss for a short time while it is novel and exciting. She thinks that perhaps I should consider that not all motivation is exciting or (in my words) sexy. If I continue to associate the relentlessness of a routine as boring and bad then I will never have the wherewithall to withstand the sort of long term effort required to reduce me to a healthy size. It was truely one of her more logical and inspired contributions. Lots of brain fodder to keep me until the next session.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen