Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-01-31 - 11:18 a.m.

Like a bomb went off.

My brain is scattered in a hundred directions. It's like a bomb went off in there and in a way I suppose one did.

Yesterday I got an email from my sister. She is a teacher. She teaches at a small private elementary school in New York state. The topic of the email was "There has been a tragedy at our school." There was a link to a CNN article. I knew about the tragedgy, I'd read the article on Friday. At that time I was going to email her but figured that was too impersonal for the subject matter. Then I had meant to call her when I got home but I got a bit wrapped up in my own life. Of course I called her once the email arrived and I immediately felt like a total schmuck for not calling earlier. There is a huge difference between reading a news article about a tragedy and hearing about it from someone who was there.

Now I'm a bit scattered. I feel guilty that I didn't call my sister right away. I'm thinking about the snow on the ground and the fact that I didn't get to the gym this morning because they are wusses and opened late but on the other hand school for my munchkin was on time. I wondering how I'll get to the gym and pick up the boy at a decent hour since the man is off at a movie tonight. I'm thinking about the packed evening schedule this week. I'm thinking about how much a trip to the data center in this building is like Get Smart (lots of doors that open or close automatically). I'm thinking of my sister as she spends her day trying to help a room full of 3rd graders (my son's age) understand what happened when even the adults don't understand.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen