Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-01-14 - 10:40 a.m.

In the pouring rain...

For two days we had fog and mist. I consider that the most miserable weather there is. Now we have had 12 hours or so of pouring rain. And except for the flood watch, it is a great improvement.

Each morning before 6am as I drive to the gym, a group of men gather outside the temp agency. This is an agency of day laborers. Perhaps they place clerical staff from that office, but in the dark of a January morning the clientele is a bit rougher.

I wonder about these men that gather here, particularly on a day like today in the pouring rain. Do they prefer to work this way? Their dedication and willingness to work puts them on the street at an ungodly hour - does no one want them permanently, or do they not want permanence?

It's dark and I'm driving past so I don't know if the cast changes daily. But I think about them and wonder, just a little.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen