Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-11-08 - 11:25 a.m.

Ah the holiday drama.

The holidays are approaching. Everyone is making their plans for the festivities. This year hubs asked about xmas at the shore and I said no. The boy is receiving for Christmas a game system that will be hooked to the tv. I am not going to the shore and giving him a gift that he can only look at in the box until we get home Sunday. You know, just so he can get it set up Sunday night and we can take him to daycare Monday through Thursday. I'm not giving him something if he won't really get to play with it.

The in-laws floated the possibility of travelling south to us. This week at family torture night the SIL is supposed to talk about it with us. Not sure what that means but we'll see. Could it be another bug's life christmas? (You know, they come, they eat, they leave.)

Of course before that is Turkey day. His folks stay in FLA for that holiday, so no worries there. Except that when I spoke to my sister on the topic she said she was willing to be hostess but wasn't sure if the other sis would be willing to come to her house. Sis the first lives over a large bridge. A bridge currently under construction. Lots of delays. Apparently sis the second had a bad trip over the bridge a week or 2 ago and is currently anti-bridge.

Ah the fine quality of family drama. I allowed as how if sis1 thought the bridge was ok I was willing to drive. I also said that if sis2 is unwilling to risk it I'd be happy to cook. Not sure when I'll get the final resolution on that one.

We won't even go into the other sis(3) who briefly mentioned in my last chat with her that they were mulling over the possibility of visiting from afar for the holiday. Plus apparently my neice vaguely wants to do the holiday at her townhouse - hee hee - can you say need to be able to seat 20, (I don't think they even have 20 seats in the house) I knew you could.

There was a time I'd get riled on the topic. Now I just chuckle. They'll sort it all out, or they won't. I know how to cook a turkey and I'm not afraid to do it.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen