Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-10-07 - 2:26 p.m.

Joy, Pain and Minor Irritations.

I have to admit it, family torture last night was not torturous at all. In fact I have not laughed so hard in a long, long time. We had a conversation about the dreams you have at night when you need to pee. I guess you had to be there to fully appreciate it.

I'm busy at home getting my assorted crap ready for a flea market sale. I saw signs last weekend and called monday to see if I could get a table. The problem with being successful is that 5 days isn't much prep time. Particularly when I work and had PTA, family dinner and group on 3 of the nights. If nothing else I'll have a boatload of toys to sell.

I feel like the walking wounded. I bought myself an elliptical machine but I'm not sure my joints appreciate it. I didn't use it for long before I was one major snap, crackle & pop. I've got a torn below it's attachment thumbnail (from flea market foo) and a major paper cut from making copies for the PTA meeting.

Speaking of the PTA meeting, it was rather annoying as the principal took it upon herself to invite her fundraiser contact to come and make pizza for us at the meeting. Nice idea, well intentioned but a major pain in the butt. It was impossible to get people to shutup and focus on the meeting. Too much chewing, chatting and general carrying on. It took forever for the meeting to get going. Then it was hard to keep it going in light of all the distraction.

Work is busy and flips randomly from good to annoying. For instance, I'm on call this week for the group I don't work for anymore. Not a good thing. I'm sort of holding my breath and hoping nothing breaks because I know absolutely nothing about fixing it if it does.

WM group is tonight. I'm having a really good week. Too bad it's not a weigh in week. Strangely I'm so not focused on it that I forgot to step on the scale at the gym this morning. I did, however, agitate at the gym until they put up my stickers for my shrinkage. They have this little incentive system. Everyone's name is on an hourglass. When you lose 5 pounds you get a hand (5 fingers, get it?) if you lose 12 inches you get a foot (foot for a foot - aren't they clever). I hadn't been weighed and measured there for 6 months. I finally decided to since I was there on a Saturday morning last week and had time I'd get measured. In my first 6 months of going I had never earned a sticker. This time I finally earned stickers! Unfortunately the saturday ladies suck and didn't put up my stickers. I stewed about it monday and finally on tuesday said something to the worker. She put up my stickers and I'm a happy camper once again. When it comes right down to it there's a little bit of toddler in all of us.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen