Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-09-08 - 7:41 p.m.

Afternoon shrinkage.

Went to the WM office today. I thought I had an appointment with the nutritionist, but apparently I was confused. Instead I had a chat with the good doctor.

One of our primary topics of conversation was a comment I made at the last group. I said that I would refer to myself as fat in a conversation or make a comment about my fat in order to get it out of the way. I also said that I thought it was a power issue. If I say it and I own up to it then I get power. Meaning that no one can hold that over me, no one can hurt my feelings with it and quite frankly I can make them more uncomfortable with it than they can make me.

She told me today that I floored her with the comment (another reason that skinny shrinks don't quite 'get' it). I was trying to explain the power (less coherently than I've done above) and we were looking for any cognitive distortions and body image issues.

We didn't really find any. I feel I'm stating a fact. I am not degrading myself or judging myself. The only potential distortion we agreed on was the power, but I think if I'd me able to describe it more coherently I'd have won that point too.

So when did a visit to the shrink start to involve me winning?

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen