Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-09-07 - 3:50 p.m.

Crazy crazy day.

I had 2 things I had to do today. Just 2, both personal. There are work things I ought to do but 2 that I HAD to do.

I come in, sit down, start checking the weekend's processing. I have a whole set of monday tasks and I started plowing down them. I even acted on an item pending from Friday. It was only 8:30 am. Then my new bossman came in and said 'do you want to move today?'. It all went to hell from there.

See a while ago webguy told me he was thinking of taking a different job. I smiled and nodded - I'd heard it before. Then he was just waiting for the paperwork to be done. So I went to his boss and said 'This is the closest thing to what I really do for a living. If he leaves can I have his job?' Weeks passed but still webguy was gonna leave just waiting for this, waiting for that. Finally he got into a collossal fight with newboss. Which ended with him giving his notice and being walked out the door - 'Thanks so much have 2 weeks on us'.

Shortly afterward newboss says 'do you still want it' and I said youbetcha. Nothing happened for a couple weeks (standard for this place). Then friday newboss said I could have the job. He said something about just having to do the paperwork. I was thinking 2 weeks or so.

Apparently 2 weeks is faster than it used to be so I spent the first half of my day moving into a new cube. At around 1pm I realized I had not yet done my 2 things. Luckily they were done pretty quickly. It really threw me off, though, I still feel like I'm reeling.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen