Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-08-01 - 9:55 a.m.

The Conference.

What unwritten law is there that when you have to be up at a certain time (which you are ALWAYS awake by) you will manage to sleep longer on that day. So I was late starting. I found the place fine (2 turns and straight for some miles). Couldn't park at the hotel (it was full), found free parking anyway. Managed to arrive only 10 minutes late to the first session. Which means all I really missed was breakfast and a talk on "No Child Left Behind".

Good first session on legislation about education. Second session was 2 groups in 1 room (bad idea). The person leading our group did not know more than me about the topic - oh good. And the room was too hot.

Then came the horror known as lunch. When will these freaking hotels learn that you need to open the doors to the lunch before the hall is completely filled with people waiting. Sat in a meeting room with a couple other ladies discussing local issues until the line became managable. Then in to find a seat. Scored one next to the incoming pta president of the elementary school that is closest to ours. Stood in an interminable lunch line made less interminable by chatting with said lunch buddy. I'm glad I sought her out. She's a newbie (first year active and she's president) and had a lot of questions. We're going to look into maybe trying to get a grant together for more afterschool enrichment activities. Then Awards - I got to pick up 2 for our group.

On to the afternoon sessions. The first was not a style I like - but it worked well for the after lunch time slot. Lots of talk and questions for the group. The speakers were dynamic and the information was good. I came out of there with 2 good ideas to pursue for our group. Second was the topic I thought I needed most - working with your administration. It was good basic information, but didn't give me quite the guidance I was hoping for. I'm going to have to get philosphical here - first I'm waiting until after this friday's pta & prinicpal meeting so I can get other members feelings. Second anything she asks for I will put before the group - if they are willing to make it happen I will just shut up and get out of the way. If they aren't willing to do it I can honestly say to her that her wants are not our group's priority. Then that will be that.

So good info. Easy trip. Some good networking. Home by dinner. What's not to like.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen