Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-06-05 - 3:21 p.m.

Volunteer Day at the Farm

I made the volunteer day a success. Yes me. All by myself because I was the volunteer who showed up.

It was chilly and rainy, but I had thought yesterday to ask the question 'is it on if it rains?' The answer was yes so I showed up this morning.

We started with cleaning out some excess seedlings for composting. Then when it started to pour we moved into the greenhouse for repotting and starting seeds. Lots to do without ever getting rained on.

Afterwards we moved outside in the steady mist (but not really rain) and weeded the onions. There was a type of weed in there that was so bad I just assumed it was something you plant that co-exists with onions. Apparently it's just a really opportunistic weed. About 30/45 minutes of weeding and it was all cleaned up again.

After that I bowed out. I came home cleaned up and ate lunch. The back is somewhat worse for the wear but it was a nice productive morning.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen