Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-06-06 - 2:16 p.m.

Potpourri for $100.

I paid for my morning of farming with an evening of sciatica.

The boy and I have been having a lovely companionable time. Yesterday he bugged me over and over about a time capsule thing the kids are doing. He wanted to put toys in it and I think it's a bad idea since I don't buy him things for him to stick in a box for 10 years, I buy them for him to play with. We were going round and round. He'd want to put something in and I'd say no. In fact when I went to take a nap he thought I was mad at him and came crying to my room. We ended up on the bed with him explaining what he wanted and me explaining why it wasn't a good idea. Then we tickled each other. (The second was a much more successful strategy.) Today we have gone out to McD's for lunch and baked cookies. Not bad for an overcast Sunday.

I worked on my wm group "homework" last night. I think I should work on it a bit more but I got a start at least. It's hard because it's supposed to be behaviour focused but in reality in my mind it's all about the weight.


We watched the Belmont stakes yesterday. What a heart breaker! I feel for the winning jockey. He did his job well but wasn't truely celebrated for his achievement. He was pretty classy in the interviews, though. It's hard to be a longshot winner against the popular favorite. Of course if Smarty had won, what would the newspapers had done with two major news stories on one day?


Ronnie Regan is dead. Wow. He was the first president I was able to vote for. I agonized over it too. Being a Democrat and a social work major in college voting Republican was not cool. I did, though. I thought he was fiscally responsible, I liked what he had done for California's budget. I researched and read what I could, I listened to the rhetoric. In the end I had a dream one night that it was ok to vote for him, so I did.

The Hinkley attack is seared in my mind too. I was living off campus with my sister and a friend. The younger brother of the neighbor tried to break into my house while I was in there. I was totally freaked out. The friend Lisa, decided we should get out of the house for a while. We were in a mall when we heard the news.

The Regan years were my college and post-collegiate years. They were good ones.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen