Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-05-18 - 4:04 p.m.

Two Weeks.

Today something amazing happened - 2 weeks came. It started last summer when they fired my previous boss. The new regime said it would take a little time to get things worked out - about 2 weeks. Two weeks came and two weeks went and each time there was a discussion of what was happening it was always "in about two weeks". Six months later I was moved to the ops center and under a new boss.

I was here about 2 weeks when they mentioned at a meeting they were working on a reorganization plan to better align the units to group functions together. They expected to have it done in about 2 weeks. They finished and then said it would be about 2 weeks before they'd implement. I sat in the meeting and basically laughed my ass off. When they asked why I told them that in my experience 2 weeks could mean anything from a day to 6 months and shared my saga.

It became the inside joke "about 2 weeks". Everything would happen in about 2 weeks. This all started again about four months ago. I must say though, 2 weeks ain't what it used to be because today without a bit of fanfair 2 weeks was here. It came with an email from above reorganizing several people who are not actually in our group. Then an hour or so later my boss came by passing out org charts. And it was here. Just like that. Finally 2 hours later they decided that perhaps they should at least have a meeting to discuss the new organization and it was done.

Slight shift in function, new immediate so called superior, a few new workmates and it's here. Of course, in reality my job hasn't actually changed a bit. Still, it's a start.

Plus my new matress has arrived - cushy sleep ahead!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen