Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-05-03 - 8:35 p.m.

Crayons.

My nightgown smells like crayons and I can't figure out why. Not that it's bothered me as I collapsed into bed the last few days. Maybe I just have crayons on the brain - the PTA is collecting school supplies for needy kids right now.

The day started scarily as crazed as the weekend. I took more no tv buttons to the school and ran into the staff appreciation chair person who was setting up food for "Teacher Appreciation Week". I helped her out then scooted into work only a little late. Happily once I was there it got much more mellow.

It ended up being a normal moderate day at work. The only crises' revolved around how blessed stupid some people are when it comes to technology. The people we give internet access to have specifically requested it. These same people can't seem to deal with the system requirements (Windows 98 or later) and can't seem to respond to simple window messages ("This website is adding one or more certificates to your computer... Ok/Cancel"). I have something along the lines of 400 users. Of them about 40 I've had to help in some fashion and maybe 10 have had major problems. I swear I just want to say "No I won't help you, in fact I'm taking away your access because you are apparently too stupid to use this program". The truth is I'm nice to these people while I'm on the phone and then I let it all out when I hang up. Only two of those (and one really annoying internal user), but I survived that easily.

Now it's a quiet night. The only crisis was that the boy managed to lose his "monday folder" - which provides all the school to home communication - somewhere between school and home. Sigh. He swears he never took it out of his backpack ... right. Guess I have to send a note to school and find out if I missed anything important.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen