Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-04-26 - 8:45 a.m.

Saturday in the Sun

Friday at lunch I acquired the pieces of a new mailbox. Saturday I got up early, worked out, then went cruised through the local home store and bought a couple more pieces of edging and some flowers.

When I got home I started assembling the mailbox. Surpisingly the husband showed up while I was working and even asked what he could do. I started him on prying the paperbox off the old post then set him to work on the hole. I the first chore he left the nails scattered on the driveway - luckily I found them before I backed my car out over them. That would be all I'd need! For the hole, he broke my shovel ... sigh. On the other hand he did the messy work and I just carried the box down to the curb, set it in the hole, got him to dig more dirt in, set it in again and repeat. The hole was chock full of water (not at all suprising) so it's pretty obvious why the post rotted out. It was nice to have chore #1 done by 11am.

Then I went back to the front gardens. I edged the rest of the front around the hidden side. I weeded the whole thing. I planted my flowers. I fed everyone, seeded the summer flowers and mulched.

I then moved over to the other side of the driveway. I started lining the garden with rocks (grounds too hard and rooty for the edging). I ran out, but I need to find more to keep going. Then I weeded and mulched. End result is I could use another bag or so of mulch and about 40 more big rocks. On the plus side, however, the lily of the valley are up and the violets are spreading!

I got the husband to take the deck furniture out to the deck and we ended the day by grilling and eating outside. A very fine end to a very productive day!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen