Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-04-12 - 12:10 p.m.

So how about that weather!

I'm wondering if I should be amused or concerned that the telephone weather guy today opened by saying 'today would be a good day to brush up on your ark building skills.'


Friday was a good day. I boiled the eggs for easter, took the boy to McD's which he thought was wonderful, then went grocery shopping. DH was late coming home from his class so I never got to work out but that was the only bummer. A simple dinner, a little computer and some tv time and that was it. The boy has been devotedly picking DH as his tuck-in selection which is working out really well for me.

The only dark cloud on the evening is when I forgot myself and thought I'd have a couple jelly beans. I totally neglected to consider that I currently have an ill fitting temporary crown. One bean, one chomp, one less crown. So off I went to the store for some fixodent. Damn lousy dental work! Evil dentist nearly broke my jaw taking the temp out so he could glue it and I manage to unglue it with just one bite of a jelly bean!


Saturday I hopped up fairly early to hit the Curves, the warehouse store and to return some leaky fruit at the grocery for a replacement. Came home and hit the kitchen. Cookies and cake for Easter, tuna salad for lunches, cleaning and prepping veggies. After lunch we dyed eggs. I love doing the eggs. I buy the kit with 9 different colors and the wax crayon for designs. I like to dip a bunch and draw and redip and draw and make 'em fancy. The boy is much more subdued. His key words were "I think that one is done" and "I like that color, don't change it".

The evening was spent in the company of the best babe and her charming brit. Dinner at a steakhouse, then a show at a coffee house next door. An excellent evening in excellent company.

Home after 11 at which point I got to wrap and fill and hide and generally make Easter happen. Strangely I ended up hiding all plastic eggs which makes me wonder why we bothered with the dyeing of eggs.


Dragged my sorry heiney out of bed when I heard the boy awaken. Spent a bleary time watching him hunt eggs. I hid 15, he found 16. I'm just not sure when that extra egg was from but it wasn't filled by me...

After breakfast and clean up I decided to get radical and went back to bed. Two hours later I restarted the day much more slowly.

Dinner at my sissy's. The festivities featured the complete family unit of my neice's new fiance. It was minor chaos but in a good way. Except for the major knocking over of foodstuffs in the kitchen - a pot of melted butter, a container of those fried onion bits, a mostly empty thing of chips. There were twenty people. My sister cooked for something like 40. She just kept saying "I didn't want to run out" - but really 2 hams and a turkey ?! As we were packing up my other sister was singsongy chanting "guess who's not cooking this week" to which I replied "uhm, all of us".

All in all a fine day.


Today the boys are home enjoying the last day of spring break and I'm back to the old grind. And it's raining...

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen