Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-04-07 - 7:25 p.m.

Shaking out a few crumbs.

After my 15 minutes of nonstop Poke-chatter on the way to drop off the boy I was pleased to enter the isolation and quiet of the work environment.

There are things I just haven't figured out, however, such as working in the dark. When I come in inevitably the lights in my workspace are not on. I generally flip them on because while it isn't pitch black, it's still "trip over the furniture" dark. And there are always 2 or 3 or more of the guys in there working. In what is basically the dark. Do they think working in the dark makes them invisible or something, I'm just not sure.

It was again brought home just how "not part of the crowd" I am today when I greeted a co-worker who has been out for a week. His wife had surgery and I inquired after her health and had a short and somewhat tortured conversation with him. Not 15 minutes later he was discussing the same with some of the other folks and it was like a whole different topic. Animated conversation between friends sounds completely different. I'm trying but it just doesn't feel like I'm making any headway on the making nice with the co-workers front.

My buddy in the ops group was in an uproar today. Seems all the folks who are losing their jobs at the end of the year are being a) trained on the new software so they can test it and b) asked to teach their jobs to the company that will be taking them over. Just when they'd calmed down and accepted their fate. I warned her it would probably be like this over and over between now and the end of the year.

We also had a fire drill today! Right after lunch. Nothing like a nice trip outside on a spectacular day courtesy of OSHA.

One more day of work, then a delightful 3 day weekend. Whee!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen