Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-03-15 - 7:17 p.m.

What Changed?

My work friend actually came to work today. Her husband (who also works there) made her see that it was to her benefit to keep coming and take what they would give her. She loses nothing by working and waiting - it's not like she has another job lined up.

Unfortunately something has changed. Is it my attitude or has she gotten more needy? She called Friday night and I missed it as I was out. I tried to call back but the number just rang and rang. She called my desk today while I was on a potty break but when I called back she wasn't there. Then she called when I was in a meeting so I emailed her. We talked on an afternoon break.

Then tonight while dinner is over cooking and the child is in the midst of another elimination emergency she called again. The husband told her I was busy but she said it would be quick - except that I really was busy and there was no way I was coming to the phone.

So which is it? I'm thinking a bit of both. She's never called me at home before. On the other hand I had pretty much come to the conclusion over the weekend that she needed to "grow up" about the work situation (it's a very generous deal). Plus I was pretty floored to hear that of the 50 people given the information on Thursday - she was the only one not to come to work Friday. Some of those people have 10 and 20 years with the company and they managed to make it in - she has less than 90 days and was too diswrought to work.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen