Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-02-20 - 9:11 p.m.

The week in review.

Moved offices from downtown to the ops center. Have had to go downtown twice already in the 3 days since I've moved.

Stopped paying for parking. Discovered that since it was taken pre-tax it had dropped me to a lower tax bracket. So I don't actually get the whole thing back as a virtual raise only a bit more than half. Dear old Uncle Sam gets the rest.

Finally got my keycard working at the new offices. Arrive early to work intending to leave early then completely lose track of time and leave late. Something about that place is like a black hole, timewise. I think it's because there's so many people working variations of the 7.5 hour day plus it's a 24 hour shop so there are people arriving at quitting time.

Completely unpack my many (10!) boxes into my cube then spend 2 days sorting and shredding excess papers because there's just not enough space in the damn thing.

Forget my anniversary. Remember when presented with jewelry. Then continuing in the "I get to be the man" theme, take my husband out to dinner. (Kudos to Grouse for the best commentary on anniversary present in the guestbook.)

I got the added joy of a phone message from the office of the aftercare folks concerned about a recent incident report that basically became a "remember we can throw your child out for this behavior" message. I tried to call and find out why after 3 years in the program they suddenly feel the need to threaten us but the caller was not there. I'm curious, particularly since my son had his arm broken in their care and had his face pushed into the crotch of another boy in their care and no one did anything or "suspended" anyone for those incidents.

Now it's Friday night and I'm beat. Tomorrow I don't get to laze in bed until all hours because the husband wants to go to some hobby store to see the CEO of a toy train company. The guys on a morning news program characterized a hobby store visit by Mike Wolfe (the aformentioned ceo) as the equivalent of Justin Timberlake coming to a record store. My husband, the toy train groupie.

On that note maybe I'll exercise a little early to bed.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen