Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-01-23 - 3:23 p.m.

Another moment of rich irony.

Tonight I am going to church. That (for those who know me) is pretty unusual. It will be a Roman Catholic Mass, even more unusual.

I was raised Catholic, however the weight of the hypocrisy of the organization drove me away. I lasted right up until they interupted the mass one Sunday to do a multimedia presentation on why we should support their fundraising so they could connect the parishes to the internet. The peadophilia just cemented my decision.

Tonight is, however, the Confirmation of DH's niece. The irony of this is that in HIS family, overflowing with Catholicism as it is, it is we the non-religious who will be celebrating this event with her. It seems no one else can make it.

Personally I'll be damned (heh, heh probably already am...) if I'll let my distaste of organized religion prevent me from supporting the family.

Now I just have to figure out how to keep the 7 year old quiet - don't guess the game boy would be acceptable diversion.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen