Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-12-30 - 9:57 a.m.

Doldrums.

It's a nautical term isn't it? From the days of sailing ships. For that place where the wind doesn't blow and you are left to drift. The power you need to move ahead is denied you and you must make due until it returns.

That's me today and probably tomorrow too. I can't say for sure about the following days as there's some days off in there and that may change my sense of determination.

The boy is getting the cold DH and I had before Christmas. It's one of those phlegmy types annoying but not too arduous. He is delighting in play days at the school and computer time at home. He hasn't even opened half of his Christmas toys.

I need to call the headhunter, she sent an email before Christmas. Suggestions for my resume. I'll do that next week. I was waffling on looking but I may just un-waffle again. This place is getting to me, I'm lonely, bored and finding I can't count on the people who need to take care of administrative things the way I used to.

For instance, I fully expect our internet account access to be unavailable in January. I made all the arrangements to renew the certificate to run encrypted but the useless admin didn't process it. Now because everyone seems to think it's ok to take tons of time off all at once, there's no one to sign the form. They don't return until 2 days before it expires, and the provider has NEVER processed our stuff that quickly.

So I work as diligently as I can and prioritize as well I am able and feel worse than uninspired and less than angry. I work out after work which is just about the highlight of the day. Then it's home to dinner and chores. I while away what time is left on bits of the extra content on the LOTR DVDs. Then to sleep and do it again the next day.

Drifting in the doldrums.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen