Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-10-07 - 3:21 p.m.

Random crap.

I'm in a pretty good mood today. I consider it directly attributable to winning $50 from a scratch off lottery ticket this morning. This win officially means that over the total life of my scratch off lottery playing for the last 2 years I have won more than I've spent.


I read this really fascinating article yesterday. Now in light of my entry yesterday I almost wonder if I should mention it, but it was very interesting so don't read anything into it. It was about suicides off the Golden Gate Bridge. The most interesting parts were the interviews with survivors and the people who choose to believe that their loved ones didn't actually mean to commit suicide. The best quote is this one - After the leap, "I instantly realized that everything in my life that I'd thought was unfixable was totally fixable -- except for having just jumped." From the New Yorker - Heavy stuff, but fascinating.


I swear that if one more person at work asks when we are moving back to our workspace, I may deck them. My new stock response is "never". Unfortunately that's not a good response because it doesn't shut them up.


I have not mentioned the soap opera that is my workplace mostly because it's been pretty quiet. In two weeks we convert the systems of a new "member" bank and currently all focus is on that. I fully expect that not in the week following conversion, but in the second one after we will finally get the promised overhaul of our unit. In the meantime if one more person mentions to me what the boss is thinking of doing with my position I fully intend to ream the boss a new one for discussion MY job with anyone who isn't me or my boss. Which of course means I'm kind of looking forward to someone doing just that since I'd love to ream this guy out for his mamby pamby handling of this whole thing.


Tonight I have a PTA meeting. I feel only marginally prepared, but that should be sufficient. I used my fancy new printer/scanner/copier to make copies of my agenda, the budget, the phone list and the architect plans for the school ... whee!

I blew off going to the school during the day today to check out the closet space we are getting in lieu of our PTA office. Frankly since I'm leaving early tomorrow for the architect's meeting I just can't justify it. Hopefully I one of the custodians will be there this evening and can show me. I'm pretty sure I know where they are gonna put stuff, so it's just a case of how much of our stuff we can fit in there.

So that's that. Back to the mines...

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen