Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-09-05 - 3:27 p.m.

Snapshot.

Walking down Baltimore Street. I'm self-consciously gripping my wallet close. I probably should have just brought the whole purse since it's easier to feel in control when there are straps over your shoulder and a whole bag under your arm. Too many people around whose intentions are not clear. The lady(?) in front of me has a chinese character on her shirt. She walks with that urban shuffle that comes from pants too big and attitude too hip. I pass her around the side. At the corner the walk sign sends me north and I wait because east is what I really wanted. The twin of the shuffler before approaches but this time leaning on a cane. There's a strange sucking sound. I turn and see a man with a tie whose left shoe is sliding up and down as he walks. Slup, slup. We cross before the light changes. A mass of humanity surging forward. Coming toward us is a buxom lass with the buttons straining on a shirt that is just "that much" too small.

Walking easier now, I hear the sounds around me: two business men chatting at the coffee shop, a hip hop beat drifting from the window of the car next to me, and always the underdrone of traffic. The next car's beat is scratchier and softer. I turn and climb the stairs. Here the air temperature rises noticeably. The smell of grease gets strong near the subway entrance. The men working on the escalators are not in evidence. A giggling group of women approach. I climb more stairs and go in the shop. I consider, select and pay.

Then I head back through it all to work again.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen