Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-07-27 - 7:44 p.m.

A little blessed relief.

Friday I gypped the company out of 45 minutes of hard labor. I was just too beat to go on. I got the groceries, came home, cooked dinner and then baked cookies for the family gathering. Decided sort of last minute that I should bring another offering so I boiled eggs. Then I pulled out my meeting flyer and discovered that the conference started at 7:00 am.! No way but the first session was at 8:15 and that was pushing it.

So when DH awoke at 6:15 I yanked my sorry butt out of bed and got started. I bathed, dressed, made deviled eggs for the family gathering and went off to learn leadership.

The conference was pretty darn good at the start. I did two very long and excellent sessions. Browsed the exhibitor room. Then got stuffed into a session that was A) too short and B) too packed. That adjourned and it was time for the luncheon. I looked down the hall at the masses of people stuffed in trying to get to lunch and just said no. A quick phone call verified that my visiting sibling had arrived so I blew off the rest of the conference in favor of my family.

The one bit of irony from the conference. The PTA says over and over that we are not there to be fundraisers, but fully 95% of the exhibitors were fundraising opportunities. Oh yeah.

The family gathering was a lovely lounging around my sister's pool. The boys swam. The little boy had a fabulous good time jumping off the diving board after demonstrating that he could get himself to the side of the pool. He was majorly psyched! Then he enjoyed some big-boy activities with his older cousins. A nice cook out and me and the sibs yaked and yaked and yaked. Funny that there's never a shortage of talk, even when we only see each other a couple times a year. Finally after watching DH prowl the yard aimlessly (after reading and watching tv earlier) I realized he was more than done and it was time to go.

The only downside of the day was a phone call from the idiot consultant at work who was being a pisser last week. Seems he was babysitting the overnight processes on Friday. The quote I got was "it sat and sat and sat on the last step, so I figured it was done". Hmm you'd think the success message would be a better indicator of completion rather than just hitting the last step. Then I had to talk him through copying the files to where they were supposed to be. Definitely some issues there.

Today I slept late and did nothing. The wonderful nothing where I read the paper cover to cover and watched a tv show about chinese foot binding. Now it's just about tubby time for the boy, so I'll bid you all a happy weekend.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen