Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-06-27 - 1:32 p.m.

Can't sum this up.

I didn't want to come to work today. I spent an extremely pleasant evening with the best babe and the excellent brit. We schmoozed, drank lots of sugar free margaritas, and ate grilled steaks with salads from the farm produce.

I got my spakling done, but I had thought I'd get the taping and carpet protection down yesterday as well. After many fine margaritas and the previous nights lousy sleep it was obvious that just wasn't happening.

So I argued with myself in the shower this morning about everything I could get done if I stayed home from work. There was a stubborn little bit of my mind that just couldn't justify it. At the time I was calling it conscience but now I think I'll go with sixth sense.

Got to work and all hell broke loose. Seems that the powers that be (which would be the chimps running this circus) decided yesterday to make everyone change network passwords. Should be no biggie except they didn't warn anyone. Which wouldn't be a biggie except when we use the internet we have to log in and that particular prompt doesn't mention anything about needing to reset your password (while still requiring it because of the way the system is now set). So people are getting locked out left, right, and center.

Yesterday I had experienced that as well. So I changed my password. I briefly asked myself if anything bad would come from that and tried to change it again (to the previous value). The system wouldn't let me and I promptly got busy with phone calls and forgot about it.

Come in today. New password doesn't work. Hmm. Old password doesn't work. I've got a bad feeling about this. Head over to the helpdesk guys and find that I'm locked out of the network. Really bad feeling (cue the theme from Jaws). Yep. Seems that every overnight job except one does something that requires my password. Not a single job ran correctly.

First off I have to get the jobs run. And answer the million & six emails about the jobs not running, while wading through the hourly failure reports from the system retrys. Yikes. Not a stellar start to the day.

I'm still trying to figure out how it is that all these systems got tied to my password.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen