Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-06-17 - 3:04 p.m.

First Grade Picnic.

Ah the hazards of going to the school on my lunch break. Break it is what I did too - 3 1/2 hours worth.

I went to the school to join the munchkin for the first grade picnic. So we spread a beach towel and grabbed our bag lunches. The little girl who was in our zoo group followed us to our "spot" and announced that she forgot her beach towel and asked if we could share. I said of course, but I'm not sure munchkin agreed. Seems she has decided the boy is her boyfriend, but he's not convinced.

Gradually I started to notice that while it wasn't currently raining, nor had it rained the day before, the ground was so saturated with water that the beach towel just wasn't cutting it. A large wet spot on the dress when you're planning to go back to work is really just not the thing. So off I went to fetch the lawn chair I keep in the van for soccer.

I schmoozed with the other moms. Showed a gaggle of munchkins how to get honeysuckle nectar, and somehow missed the desert line. The best visual of the day was a giant thug of man, dad to one of the boy's buddies, looking like he stepped out of a rap video with a mean looking scowl on his face waving a bubble wand making bubbles for the kids to chase.

Then came the talent show video. Highlight of the day. But it went on and on and on. I knew the boy went on the second day but I had no idea how interminable the other acts would be. Some were quite good: the magician, the pianist, the breakdancer. Some were just long: the boy singing along to an endless Weird Al song, the skip along girls, the jump ropers, the kid drawing a lacross stick. Finally I let the boy know that as soon as his was done I had to leave. His was like second or third to last. After it finished he looked back to be to be sure I'd seen it. I gave the thumbs up and then split. He did a real nice job.

So first grade is now winding down. Just a couple half days to go. It hardly seems possible.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen