Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-05-25 - 8:36 p.m.

Painted.

The sewing room is now covered in two coats of bright white with just the tiniest hint of pink. It is just the color I'd hoped it would be. The husband says he doesn't see the pink at all. The boy say's "mommy it's so bright and clean". Yeah! You know you got the look you were after when the six year old positively identifies it!

Speaking of the boy, he wanted to help paint. I don't know why I didn't predict this eventuality. He is, after all, the child who has been known to beg me to let him stay up for the end of Changing Rooms.

I don't think the pause was audible, but my heart stopped for a minute when he asked. I said yes, of course. Parenthood is all about letting go. First you let go of your dignity (if pregnancy doesn't do it, the delivery will). Then gradually you let go of your control. I immediately identified this as a control issue.

He did a fine job (for a six year old). The funny thing is, when we had the husband try to identify the parts he painted versus the parts I did, DH picked all mine as his. Yep I did the messy painting! Seems I was so worried about what he was doing, I didn't pay enough attention to what I was doing. I dripped paint on the rug before he did. I missed spots just like he did. Although he got more paint on the woodwork than I did (no biggy, that's getting some semi-gloss white tomorrow), his ended up better. I did go over his parts some after he finished, and they looked darn good. Mine looked a bit shabby. Ah well, that's what second coats are for.

Tomorrow is trim work, but I don't think I'll re-assemble the room until next weekend. Since it's so damp out I want to be sure to give it a good long drying time.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen