Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-05-20 - 3:17 p.m.

Vegetation.

It's a veritable vegetable christmas! One of the ladies at work asked if I would like to split a share of community supported agriculture. If you've never heard of this it's a process where a farm sells advance shares of their crop. They are guaranteed a certain amount of income and we get a share of what's harvested each week. I'd read about it last year, but I wasn't sure I could use everything so I never pursued it. Half a share, however, sounded doable.

Today the office fridge has my half of the first offering: bags of lettuce, spinach, scallions, broccoli rabe, and two types of radishes. It feels like christmas. All this lovely, incredibly fresh, organic produce. The best part is they give me more next week and the week after...all summer long!

Today's mission was the proper preparation of brocoli rabe. I've never encountered broccoli rabe before. Now I know more about broccoli rabe than I ever imagined.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen