Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-04-12 - 7:51 p.m.

Doing the Right Thing.

I went to a funeral today. I didn't know the deceased, but his son is one of our consultants. It's a cliche to say that he's one of the nicest guys, but it really does fit him. He's wonderful, helpful and rarely complains about the work (unlike our full-time guys).

When the email of arrangements got forwarded to us I didn't think I'd be going. R and I aren't particularly close. Strangely, though, it was something that was niggling at the back of my brain for two days. Last night I decided - going was the right thing to do.

I was in a room full of people I've never met, saying goodbye to someone I never knew. I was kind of scared of it too. I don't do well in large groups and I'm kind of sensitive to the feeling like I'm intruding. As I drove there I just kept telling myself I was doing the right thing.

And it was the right thing too. I was the only one there from work. I just wish I had thought to send flowers from the office.

Richard sounds like he was a great guy. Fun loving, family oriented and well loved. He certainly raised a nice son. He's free from his pain now, and that's what counts.

I'm left wondering, am I ever going to grow up to the point where I consistently know the right thing to do. And do it. I often think about what I should do and don't follow through. This time I just felt like I should. I'm gonna work on that, because it felt right.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen