Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-04-11 - 9:59 a.m.

Victories, Losses, Draws.

Ding Dong the Witch is Dead. It's amazing how one persons behavior can really upset the department. Goldilocks came to her senses, took the money and went home. To be fair she seems like an ok person but she really wasn't up to the work. I actually saw her resume yesterday. Seems she hadn't even worked 6 months at any of her web developer jobs. No wonder the bossman never let us interview her first. I'm just astonished at how she could be so combatitive about everything. She was never in a meeting when she wasn't picking a fight. That and the attendance issues made things unbearable. Now I hope we can just move on.


The bossman decided this week that the overnight job has to be monitored. This is supposed to consist of our 2 consultants switching off on nights from 10 to midnight or so to be sure the job runs or restart it if it fails. The first night was Wednesday night and they both worked it together to get a feel for it. They called me around midnight because their notes from the training weren't up to the task. Job restarted no problem. Last night the job ran without problems, but I could not sleep - I was just waiting for another call. Then one of the consultant's father died yesterday. I'm not sure when he'll be able to work it again and the second is going out of town for the weekend. Looks like I get to come in and work tonight and monday night at the minimum. Oh joy.


Yesterday I managed to miss my scheduled volunteer slot at the school. I blame the fact that I said I could do one day but they scheduled me for two. I saw the one, put it on my calendar and then completely spaced on the other one. I feel really guilty about it too.


Once again the PTA asked if I would consider being president next year. This time I said yes.


My sweet fuzzy hound has to go in to the vet again next week. He does not have the easy to correct hormonal problem. Therefore they have to check his liver out. They will do abdominal x-rays and a bile test of some sort. I'm pretty worried about the little guy. He seems fine, but obviously something is not working right.


I got back my blood test results. It seems that my blood sugar is normal thank you very much. I could have told them that! My cholesterol is in the healthy range - somewhat of a suprise. A definite victory. I feel like it's an in your face to the stupid doctor who decided to hold birth control hostage to the test results.

The one puzzler is my thyroid. I forget what she said normal was, but my reading was 0.0 Hmmm. That doesn't sound so good. The lady who checked me out at the appointment said that she thought one side was enlarged (after much squeezing of my neck and asking me to swallow). I guess it's back to the doctors. Another Oh joy.


The weekend starts mildly chaotic. Night shift work tonight. Sleep, soccer, birthday party. The rest is still being determined.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen