Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-03-27 - 3:15 p.m.

Never a Dull Moment.

In never a dull moment land, they found asbestos on our floor. Now I would imagine our 10 to 12 week stay in temporary quarters just got longer. Wonderful, wonderful. Plus the boss and head tech are now going to have to move. No idea where they'll put them.

I've settled in as well as can be expected. I'm wondering whether putting the fridge next to me is a good thing or a bad thing. I like having it handy, but I'm not sure if I like or hate the traffic. It means everyone stops by to say "hi", but no one seems to be able to get their stuff without saying something.

Hmm I just got my problem application to run on the test server. This would make me very happy if I had any idea why it suddenly works. I've futzed with it all day. Now it decides to process. I'm glad but in an annoyed sort of "why didn't you do this before" way.


Last night, against my better judgement, I watched the news. I shouldn't have, though, because the things they say just piss me off. They kept talking about what the troops in Iraq were going to do "to suprise the Iraqis". Excuse me, but if you're telling me about it what makes anyone think it will be a suprise? I highly doubt the US is the only country monitoring worldwide broadcast television. To think so would be the ultimate and most fatal kind of arrogance.

They interviewed a soldier last night. He said this is the most awful thing he's ever experienced. There is nothing more I can say about the war. We are there. Whether I think we should be there or not is more irrelevant than ever.

Everyone has to follow their conscience about what they think they should say about it. Personally, I wish that the majority of people would just shut up. If you aren't the one whose life is on the line perhaps a more subtle approach is called for. No one was won over by the in your face rhetoric that so many feel the need to spout. Perhaps it's time to get over yourselves.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen