Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-03-26 - 9:35 p.m.

Moving.

We moved out of our offices at work today and into temporary quarters with the stuck up idiots who ran their part of the company into the ground. I was told to have everything packed up by close of business Tuesday, so I did. Then they mentioned that movers weren't coming until early Wednesday morning. Then Wednesday at 8:30. This doesn't bode well.

Today I get to work, but I can't do diddly because my stuff is packed up. So I do my morning due diligence by standing at the servers and checking logs and running queries. Then I surf the net from one of the servers. Then it's about 9:30 and nothing has been moved yet - not one thing. I move my chair to my new "office", a conference room I'm sharing with web guy. They have managed to remove the conference table, but that's it.

I decide I might as well take my walk since there's nothing else to do. 2 miles later they still haven't done anything. I make some personal calls on the cell phone, then pick up voice mails. Discover there's a problem so back to the servers.

By 11 I had my 2 boxes but no desk and no computer. By 11:30 they started with the desks. Luckily I notice they are about to cover the lan port and run and get a cable plugged in. By noon I have a computer. I manage to get it set up by 12:30 and start working.

By 1:30 I'm settled in and busy being frustrated by an application that works on the production server which I am completely unable to make work on any other server. I have an upgrade for it that I'm afraid to do anything with. I need to test it first but I can't get a test system running. GAH! I did fix one report but I have 2 more to fix too.

Mucho busy.

Home is the daily grind. Not much else. Managed to forget to send the kid to school with something for science class. I seem to forget a bunch of these mid week things. I guess I need a better place to stick the notices so I'll see them.

That's about it. In my week and 2 days of walking I've logged 20+ miles (yeah!). Lets hope it translates into a few less pounds and a bit lower blood pressure.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen