Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-01-15 - 2:36 p.m.

I hate it when that happens.

I'm having a small error kind of day. The little ones that are so damn stupid because if I'd just been thinking it would never have happened. One is a no big deal, fixed on the fly kind of thing, the other a good bit larger.

Our system loads data each night from the core system. They have been after me to make it load data earlier, but I have to get the data in order to load it. The system is particularly unforgiving, so if the files are late things cease to function rather dramatically. Apparently there was such a failure on Dec 31. I didn't even pay attention to it because the system just went on it's merry way and loaded the files on Jan 1. Looked like no big deal, they were a day late but they didn't step on anything because that wasn't a business day. Today someone looks at the end of month archive and it has 12/30 instead of 12/31. Yep the system didn't load 12/31 on time, but the archive ran perfectly. Therefore it got the wrong end of year.

On one hand I'm glad I wrote it to be smart enough to at least have the right date to match the actual data. On the other hand, boy was it stupid of me not to think of that at the time. The problem is that I keep one week of data. The first was 2 weeks ago. I've got what's known as a non-recoverable error. On one hand, that system is going away very soon it shouldn't be a big deal. On the other hand a couple of people are in a snit about it and have copied G*d and everyone about the issue. Great.

So the person who is going to try to force the mainframe to cough up the numbers again (not easy) asks me - "Could you have seen this when it happened." Reality time. Yes, I just never thought to look.

I'm not stupid, but today I sure feel stupid.

Excuse me, I think I'll go drool in a corner now.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen