Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-12-30 - 1:50 p.m.

Play time.

I could get used to this kind of schedule. This holiday it has been work a day get two off, repeat.

When last we left our heros we were chillin' post holiday. A big part of what I needed to do on the day after Christmas was decide what to serve to the gathering of my family unit this past Sunday. Instead I played Yu-gi-oh, built Bey Blades and tested them, helped with Bionicles, built a train track, opened bunches of packages and enjoyed something like 4 games of electronic Kerplunk. I got very little done, but what fun are toys if you don't play with them?

Friday I took advantage of a quiet day at work to vainly try and decide what food to provide for my relatives. When did I get so indecisive? Finally my sister called to see what she could bring and we worked out the finer menu points together. My chili lunch turned into 3 hot appetisers, chili, sandwich fixin's, chips and salad. At first I felt a little odd that my menu had gotten so twisted and expanded, but in the end folks ate just about everything.

Saturday was Yu-gi-oh (again), go to Target to acquire Yu-gi-oh booster packs and shelves, clean and stash toys and start the foodstuffs. I managed to incorporate the toys into the existing storage with just a few minor adjustments. The boy rarely plays upstairs (where rarely is pretty much never), so I simply removed 3 items from the upstairs shelves to the closet, moved 4 from downstairs to upstairs, made a large bag of Happy Meal toys disappear and voila! clean. I managed to get a spot for everything (except maybe the games). Plus I still haven't taken the new bookshelf out of my car for munchies room. Five lovely shelves for books will improve the book situation and free up a three shelf unit that I'm eyeing a corner of the family room for to hold games.

My family descended on Sunday for a lovely nosh and schmooze. My brother made the paper in an article about his impending retirement. Yes he's old enough to retire! He's 21 years older than me. My sister and her family were cruising through after visiting her in-laws in Hagerstown. We had something along the lines of 27 people (just my siblings, their children and grandchildren). Even more amazing is that another 4 local members who didn't make it, plus the 4 more out of towners. Big dang family. From ages 1 to 60 something. I ended the day tired but content. Not too much clean up and in bed on time.

Today is another little morsel of work then I'm off again tomorrow for another munchkin day then the new year. I predict at least 1 game of Yu-gi-oh.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen