Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-12-26 - 10:18 a.m.

Memories of Sugar Plums.

Hope everyone had a lovely holiday! Things were very peaceful here at Greencamp. Husband awoke at an ungodly hour. Munchkin slept about the normal amount. Santa Claus came and the holiday happened.

The weather was the star of the show for this holiday. A white christmas with pouring rain, sleet and just about everything else possible dropping at some point.

There was minor angst about the in-laws driving down from the Jersey shore. They left while it was raining here, but by the time they'd been on the road for an hour or so, it was snowing. Biggest dang snow I've ever seen precipitating - it looked for all the world like God throwing snowballs.

Christmas eve we watched videos of prior Christmases. 2 things - dang it's embarassing to be video taped in your jammies, and boy oh boy is my child trained ... rip paper, exclaim happily, hand paper to mommy to be placed in trash bag, repeat. We also determined that the boy recieves slippers every year.

The pile of toys I had been thinking was quite modest was hella bigger when stacked in front of the Christmas tree. At least half of the offerings were met with "just what I always wanted", so I count it a success. The living room is still scattered with the detrious of the day, but that can wait a bit. I also think I've figured out what will be going from the toy shelves to make room for the new stuff. The boy made a point of pulling just about everything out and playing with it over the last 2 weeks, but I think we can squeeze everything in with just a deletion or two.

Husband liked his things. And as for me, well it's not really supposed to be about things - right? The one item I really wanted, a cigarette lighter adapter for the cell phone, doesn't fit the cell phone (somehow he ignored me when I told him repeatedly that the books were on top of my desk to help him get the right one). I got a new step stool (needed), fireplace tools (needed, but he makes the fires), a chopper (not needed - I have 2), a calendar with dog pictures (not needed I have around 5 calendars already), a subscription to a trashy magazine (probably the most thoughtful 'suprise' gift there) and Margarita glasses (wanted, needed and ready to be filled!).

Lunch was nice. The in-laws showed up after some angst on our part due to the weather. They gave out presents, spent time with munchie. Looked at DH's trains and hung out for a couple hours. Pop-pop loved the cookies I made just for him (brown edged wafers). It was just darn nice. Then sil split to make a pie for dinner, the in-laws went to check in to their hotel, and DH didn't want to go to the other sister's house until cocktail time.

Dinner was excessive, but I guess that's to be expected. Turkey, ham, stuffing, potatoes, carrots, bean casserole, cole slaw. It was a nice evening. Then home by 8:30 so munchie could go to bed and DH could be ready for the workday.

Today munchie and I are hanging out. He's still in his jammies. He's watching tv and playing his gameboy. We've already played the Yugio card game once - I think we're not quite getting all the rules right, though. I predict Kerplunk sometime later, but now I have to go build a BeyBlade.

Ho, Ho, Ho!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen