Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-12-23 - 2:21 p.m.

The final countdown.

Another work day. Amazingly I didn't catch any crap for ditching the drinking fest known as the office Christmas party. Amazingly they all were at work today (except webgirl). Some of the other tidbits from the party:

This little shindig cost over $3,000.

The young thing tech was drinking 150 year old brandy, repeatedly.

The consultant ordered something like 5 bottles of wine - good (read expensive) wine.

When webgirl started saying to the young thing "you can't be that young", he started calling her "grandma".

Our ip and security guy got so trashed that he apparently lost his ability to speak. The boss who was pretty darn toasty himself, gave him a ride home. And promptly got lost. And ended up in Frederick.

The admin is already planning what we should change for next year.

On the Home front - DH informed me yesterday that he had another surprise present for me for Christmas. The only thing that will possibly redeem this holiday is if some of the suprises end up being jewelry, but I'm not holding my breath.

I find that not only does it not seem possible that Christmas is in 2 days, I'm not really looking forward to it at all. While I got him a big percentage of his list, munchkin's pile looks pathetically small. I know it's not about things, but try explaining that to a six year old. Actually the box for one present is really huge - but the contents only cost like $5. A bunch of the presents are something that he was obsessed with in October, but seems to have really stopped being interested in. I want him to be happy with it, I just hope I've done ok.

I'm not looking all that forward to dinner with the in-laws either. Found out Saturday that the in-laws are coming to our house for lunch before we all go to dinner at DH's sister's home. Strikes me as just too darn weird - why don't we all just gather there a little earlier? I guess it's her turn for a Bug's Life Meal - you know "they come, they eat, they leave".

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen