Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-11-17 - 11:15 a.m.

Long term goals.

I'm not sure I didn't come off too high and mighty in the last entry. In some ways I admire people who have dreams. But I've said it before - it isn't me. I don't operate that way.

Maybe it's from being raised by parents who grew up in the depression. I think that to them having a house, raising their family and putting a good dinner on the table each night was exactly what they'd hoped for.

I will say that this tendency of mine makes it tough during job interviews when they ask those HR type questions. What are your long term goals? Uhm, enjoy my life the best I can until I die. What are your short term goals? Make enough money to support my family and have a little fun so that I can enjoy my life the best I can.

Not that there aren't a couple things on the wish list. I would like a pool in the back yard - I just don't think the current state of the economy makes it wise to incur that kind of debt for a luxury. So I'm saving for it, but it's a slow thing. I'd like to go to law school. I've decided that I need to grow the munchkin a bit first. It will have to be night school so he needs to be a bunch more independent before I pursue that.

Other than that... hmmm a couple things that I'd have to work to get but I haven't been willing to put the work into, a couple things that I just need to schedule and a couple things that just want cash.

Today, though, I think I'll just pursue some leisure.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen