Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-08-27 - 7:25 p.m.

Inevitable loss of control.

Munchkin is now a "big first grader". He's with the big kids now. He goes to class, sits at a desk, eats lunch in a crowded cafeteria, and gets gym, music and art. With this transition there is a very definite loss of control. There is no book that the teacher writes notes to us in, there are not yet any written assignments.

The sum total of what I know about my childs day is what he remembers. And face it, my child remembers only what he sang in music (lilo & stich and 2 snails) and that the pizza at lunch was too hot so he had to rest it half on the plate while he ate it.

We had a minor tizzy yesterday when he tried to explain to me about the "numbers" for lunch. I didn't understand and he didn't have the ability to make me understand. It ended up being nothing. The teachers are collecting the lunch money and giving the children numbers to hand to the cafeteria ladies. Munchkin didn't realize where the numbers came from, he just knew that if he wanted cheese pizza and chocolate milk that he needed a number and I had to provide it. Fortunately one of the Parks and Rec ladies is also a lunch monitor so I actually had someone I could ask this morning for an interpretation.

For other things I kind of have to wait it out. Wait for handouts or communications from the teacher. Unless I want to call her. But what would I say? Gee I don't know what's going on in the classroom tell me? Like she has time for that?

I feel for the moms sending kids off to college, but really they slip from your grasp an inch at a time from the moment you have them. It's inevitable.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen