Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-08-23 - 11:08 a.m.

School Days and several other types of daze as well.

So, where was I.

School starts monday. I wouldn't have thought that would be a big thing for us. Munchkin gets up early every day for camp during the summer. The commuting schedule doesn't really change, just his destination. So why then are these last few days so hectic?

Wednesday evening was the first PTA meeting of the school year. Now that I think about it, we had a social in June so there was really only one month off. It was a meeting and social on the President's deck. Beer, wine, sodas and margaritas. Business and a little getting to know you socializing. One thing the meeting changed was my whole plan for the remainder of the week.

I assumed, silly me, that based on what the Kindergarten teacher gave us after we missed it, "Orientation" was basically for the parents. At the PTA meeting I found out that it was for the children too. I figured I'd do Orientation, then we'd both do the Open House on Friday. The revised schedule was both of us Thursday with Friday TBD. I knew I needed to go on Friday because I volunteered to help with sno-cones.

So Thursday I had to drop munchie at camp and find out when they were leaving for their field trip so that I could get him before they left. Then I went to work for a pitiful 2 hours just to cover the basics. Then reclaimed the munch before lunch and off we went to McDonalds. After that we spent an hour or so cooling out heels at home then off to Orientation. Which was good. We got the lowdown on transportation, when to call the teachers, when they prefer for us to schedule appointments. How to send notes, how to send lunch money. Then we all went to the classrooms. We met the teacher and the Munchkin sat at his desk for a while. Now we know who is in his class. He knows where to go on the first day and we got to meet the teacher, although munchkin keeps forgetting her name.

Home again for a quiet evening. I had to update the school web site, which has been a bit of a pain since I deleted things to clean it up when I started the job. I tried several times to ftp the new files before I finally got them up there. Never had that much trouble before.

And it was quiet except that DH noticed water on the floor of the basement mechanical room. So we had to arrange for plumbing foo today. Which now has to be factored into the extra activities for the day. Luckily DH had already checked the meeting schedule because we were trying to figure out timing for munchkin, work, camp and the Open House.

So I took munchie to camp today. I'm just leaving him there, he's already seen his teacher and his desk. I'm supposed to show up to help with sno-cones but when I got to work the admin is out due to surgery on her brother and the Princess'es father-in-law had died. Add that to the help desk guys mother-in-law who died and we are instantly short staffed. It's about 11 now. I'd have to leave by 2:15 or so and I'm still currently undecided. I don't want to be unreliable but if it's too lively here I won't leave them with a Temp and a couple Techs.

On the calmer side, the weekend guest plans are postponed (yet another in-law ill) so it should be a calmer weekend than expected.

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen