Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-08-19 - 12:39 p.m.

5 out of 6 and T-7

So, the weekend. I actually was gonna post, sat down at the computer a couple of times. When the buddy lists disappeared, however, I didn't have high hopes for a post getting posted and staying posted. So I just didn't post.

It was an ok weekend. Friday was the ever so excellent dinner with the babe. We did much noshing and much gabbing and it was good. The boys ate leftovers and who knows what else, because I wasn't there!

Saturday required normal saturday chores. With the added addition of the grocery (since I usually do that on friday). Which also meant the addition of the munchkin to my shopping trip since DH was off to a train show. Amazing how the addition of a not quite 6 year old changes the terrain of the grocery cart. Things I wouldn't buy for a variety of reasons were must have's.

Now don't start thinking I'm a pushover. He just has different standards than I do. We needed some cookies for his lunch. I'd have gotten Oreos. He chose Powerpuff Girls chocolate sandwich cookies. He's eating them. They're even cheaper. So I bought them.

Really the only thing I caved on was breakfast cereal. He just doesn't seem to eat it. Occasionally for lunch. Hardly ever for breakfast. But he really wanted some silly cereal. After a bunch of debate, I caved. Put me in a position of power, though, since I threw it back at him in the ice cream aisle. You know, "you already have popsicles at home, besides I already got you some cereal".


Groceries were followed by yet another afternoon at my sister's house. For those with scorecards that would be the 3rd out of 4 weekends with my family. I believe that is a new world record for non-holiday related family gatherings.

I had a lovely time. My New York sister was visiting. So I spent the day with 4 out of 5 of my siblings and this time it was the right 4.

My oldest brother never spent the holidays with us when I was growing up. He was first with his in-laws and later his family was so large they did their own thing. When we all gather now it is usually with them. They are local after all. This time, however, it was the core 5 that I spent most of my formative years with. No extra hoards of family. Us 5 with one spouse and 4 kids and 1 grandkid.

We spent it sitting and eating crabs while watching the kids swim. Keeping my munch from being bullied by his older cousins (aka 'the big boys'). Making each other laugh so hard it hurt. Talking about life and everything else. And it was good.


Sunday was more chores. Followed by a bunch of waiting around to take munchie to a birthday party. It was a "Power Rangers Disco Dance Party". But they were all 5 and 6. So it was a bunch more Power Rangers and less dancing. It was at a dance studio. It made a great party room. Big open space with little tables around the sides. Good sound system. Many small children running around. Hey he had fun and that's what counts.

The most amusing moment was when he saw his kindergarten dream girl again. He just started screaming her name over and over while jumping up and down. I don't think she had a clue what to do.


One week from today munchie starts first grade. Just amazing how time flies.

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen