Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-07-14 - 11:02 a.m.

Bossman's Party.

So. Yesterday was the office "picnic" at bossman's house. First off I do have to say that we had a nice time. The weather was totally overcast and not too hot, not the best pool weather (not that it stopped us).

My mind is a jumble of things. So many impressions. The party was more than an hour and half from my house to his. He commutes for an hour from the north I have the modest 20 minute commute from the south. Since we travelled around the city rather than through that tacked on 15 or so more minutes.

His home is a modest brick home in an older community. They recently did some work on the house including a family room additon and a new kitchen. It's really a nice house.

My 2 biggest impressions are that: a) they need a designer to help them with the interiors and b) it is obviously his house. I saw no sign of his wife's influence anywhere. The addition has a fireplace with a plasma screen tv above it and random sofa's and chairs. No adornment at all. The living room had a fireplace with an oak surround around the whole thing. Random sofa's and chairs and one curio cabinet - full of bossman's toys. The kitchen didn't even have anything on the counter! He has an office with floor to ceiling junk. I didn't see any space that was hers.

The basement. As Munchkin said "he has a video arcade in his basement". Munchkin was very impressed. It included a pinball machine. A Ms Pacman machine. A full sized air hockey table and a pool table.

They had a small deck and a nice patio with an arbor kind of roof - personally I'd have gone the extra step and covered it. The pool was at the far side of the yard. It is a liner type pool. It was nice with a shallow end and a deeper end, a rock waterfall and a sliding board.

I was amused in touring the house to see several things that I know were bought with company money. There's a set of heavy duty shelves in the office that match the ones in the computer room at work. A cart that I remember being delivered to work and a laminator that was in the office around the time I started there and just sort of disappeared one day. Suprise! It's sitting on the cart in bossmans basement storage space.

The food didn't match what he was bragging about, but it was pretty good. He has a rotary hotdog machine (not your standard backyard fare). They had princesses father grilling the burgers and for some reason he felt the need to put barbeque sauce on them. Plus a steam tray of sausage and peppers. Otherwise pretty standard picnic stuff. Veggie tray, grocery tubs of potato salad and coleslaw. A tray of cupcakes for desert.

Munchkin and I spent about 3 hours in the pool. He only got out in the end because I made him. Then I literally had to drag him away from the "arcade" when it was time to leave. Both he and bossman were upset that we didn't stay to watch him light the $300 of fireworks he bought, but with a 5 year old and an hour and half drive I was done at 7:30 and we left.

Oh yeah, and bossman practically followed me around with a bottle of wine saying "I have wine". I allowed as how that was nice, but I had a soda started. He looked at my diet dr pepper and said "where'd you get that". But of course I had brought it with me. Made it out without a drop of wine in me. Hee Hee.

Today, excessive amounts of lounging. Tonight dinner and a show with the best babe!

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen